WEF17 Award for Maria Socratous

WEF17 Award for Maria Socratous


At Annual Women Economic Forum in New Delhi


Dr Maria Socratous, BPW International, will be receiving the prestigious WEF17 Award of «Iconic Women Creating a Better World for All” the at Annual Women Economic Forum in New Delhi,

The gala Annual Women Economic Forum gathers women leaders from 100+ countries at its mega marathon spectacular conference in New Delhi spread over 6 days.

In just few weeks from now India will be abuzz with the energy of passionate women leaders and entrepreneurs from different countries across the world gathering together for the marathon 6 days of the Annual Women Economic Forum.

From 8th to 13th May, a rich confluence of leaders and achievers from a 100+ countries will empower one another by sharing and speaking across 520 sessions and workshops under the overall bold theme of “Women: Creating, Innovating, Understanding and Driving the Future”.

What is most unique is that the extensive program across 41 theme verticals and 520+ sessions has been built over the past year with the committed participation of a widely constituted Advisory Board and Advisory Executive Council (AEC) of over 500 people from the world. This is to ensure meaningful dialogues on topics that engage the needs of All the participants from different fields, cultures and backgrounds.

The vibe of the conference is interactive. Power points are not encouraged; whereas open hearted sharing is celebrated. Apart from the fact that this format enhances engagement of all in the audience, this is also done to encourage even those who consider themselves ‘non-speakers’ to share their insights; feeling supported thus.

Over 2000 delegates and speakers representing experiences from 150 countries, are joining. Countries include, Albania, Argentina, Australia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Belgium, Benin, Botswana, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, China, Colombia, Cote D’Ivoire, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Ethiopia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Guinea, Hungary, Iceland, India, Iraq, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Korea, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Lithuania, Louisiana, Malaysia, Maryland, Montenegro, Morocco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Panama, Philadelphia, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Russia, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Sweden, Switzerland, Syria, Togo, Turkey, Turkmenistan, UAE, Uganda, UK, USA, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

In addition, companies, institutions and startups are sharing their ideas and initiatives; like BMW financial services, Fortis Escorts); Facebook, Google, Teach India, and many start-ups like in 3D printing, genomics, crafts etc. Countries and embassy representatives are also presenting opportunities therein for business, education and tourism, and special outreach for women.

Confirmed ministers & dignitaries:

International Ministers and MPs:

Dr. Anja Kopač Mrak, Minister for Labour of Labour, Family, Social Affairs and Equal Opportunities, Slovenia.

Ms. Alenka Smerkolj, Minister responsible for Development, Strategic Projects and Cohesion, Slovenia.

Ms. Shamma Sohail F. Al Mazrui, Minister of State for Youth Affairs, UAE

  1. Sara Dowie, MP, New Zealand

Ms. Marija Pavilioniene, MP, Lithuania

Cabinet Ministers from India:

Mr. Suresh Prabhu, Union Minister for Railways; Mr. Thawar Chand Gahlot, Minister for Social Justice & Empowerment.

Expected Dignitaries

Invited and confirmation awaited for: Ms. Draupadi Murmu, Hon’ble Governor of Jharkhand; Dr. Harshavardhan, Union Minister for Science & Technology; Prakash Javadekar, Union Minister for Human Resource Development. Mrs Lamia Zribi, Minister of Finance, Tunisia, Ms Hela Cheikhrouhou, Minister for Energy, Tunisia.

Categories: Business, News in English